Monae is back.

After nearly five years since her previous release, Janelle Monae makes her delightful return with her long-awaited and fourth studio album, The Age Of Pleasure.

Compiled at 14 tracks, Janelle showcases some fine bars on the empowering anthem, “Float” featuring Seun Kuti and Egypt 80. Ms. Monae also explores her sexuality on the savory and kinky follow-up single “Lipstick Lover“.

Other tracks include “Champagne Shit”, “Black Sugar Beach”, “Haute”, “Paid In Pleasure”, “Water Slide”, “Only Have Eyes 42”, and “A Dry Red”, among others. Doechii makes an appearance on “Phenomenal”, while CKay lends his helping hand for “Know Better”. Elsewhere, Grace Jones assists on Monae on “Ooh La La”, Sister Nancy makes her cameo with “The French 75”, and Amaarae and Nia Long both pull up for “The Rush”.

The Age Of Pleasure is the follow-up to Janelle Monae’s 2018 critically-acclaimed and two-time Grammy nominated album, Dirty Computer. Since then, she’s released “Turntables” from the soundtrack to Amazon Studios documentary, All In: The Fight For Democracy (2020) and “Stronger” off the soundtrack to Netflix’s We The People (2021).

The post Album: Janelle Monae ‘The Age Of Pleasure’ first appeared on Rap Radar.

June 9, 2023

Written by:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *